Saturday, August 9, 2008

National Conferences on Undergraduate Research

The National Conferences on Undergraduate Research (NCUR), [] established in 1987, is dedicated to promoting undergraduate research, scholarship, and creative activity in all fields of study by sponsoring an annual conference for students.

Unlike meetings of academic professional organizations, this gathering of young scholars welcomes presenters from all institutions of higher learning and from all corners of the academic curriculum. Through this annual conference, NCUR creates a unique environment for the celebration and promotion of undergraduate student achievement, provides models of exemplary research and scholarship, and helps to improve the state of undergraduate education. In addition to providing a forum for student presentations and performances through its annual conference, NCUR also

  • Organizes workshops for faculty and administrators who support undergraduate research and creative activity on campuses across the country
  • Collaborates with other national organizations in support of undergraduate research and the improvement of undergraduate education
  • Administers the NCUR/Lancy initiative which awards grants to support summer interdisciplinary undergraduate research programs
  • Publishes a proceedings of the conference
  • Sponsors, with the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) and annual Institue for Undergraduate Research Program Directors
  • Sponsors special projects on issues relating to the goals of the organization


The Conferences

The idea for a national conference open to all undergraduates was conceived and first implemented at the University of North Carolina at Asheville (UNCA) in 1987. The first conference drew more than 400 participants from schools across the country. Now in existence for over twenty years, the conference regularly hosts 2,000 students and their faculty mentors to present their research through posters, oral presentations, visual arts and performances.


  • 1987 University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • 1988 University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • 1989 Trinity University1990 Union College
  • 1991 California Institute of Technology
  • 1992 University of Minnesota
  • 1993 The University of Utah
  • 1994 Western Michigan University
  • 1995 Union College
  • 1996 University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • 1997 University of Texas at Austin
  • 1998 Salisbury State University
  • 1999 University of Rochester
  • 2000 University of Montana, Missoula
  • 2001 University of Kentucky
  • 2002 University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
  • 2003 University of Utah
  • 2004 Indiana Univ. and Purdue Univ. Indianapolis
  • 2005 Washington and Lee Univ. and Virginia Military Institute
  • 2006 University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • 2007 Dominican University of California
  • 2008 Salisbury University
  • 2009 University of Wisconsin, LaCrosse
  • 2010 University of Montana



2008 []

2000-2007 []

No comments: